Things I’m loving Sunday/Monday

It’s been a long week and weekend! We pretty much got the last of our Canadian summer weather this weekend. It’s already claiming to go down to 6 degrees this week… 😦 I can’t believe it came and went so fast! Ah well, all a part of living in this beautiful country.

My running has stayed at the same level. I’ve stuck with short runs (20 minutes) mixed in with cross-training, mainly cardiovascular work on the elliptical machine which still gets my HR up as well as a lot more pilates and core building work which will benefit me big time when I get back into my regular running routine! I’m used to running outside, which passes the time much quicker in comparison to doing cardio in the gym….
I feel like I’m constantly watching the clock. tick tock tick tock.
However, there are ways I’ve made the time go by a littleeee bit faster, utilizing some great HIIT elliptical workouts. I’ll share with you my favourite one this week:

elliptical-interval-workout

I got this one from the blog pbfingers.com – I always check her blog out, it’s really entertaining and has a lot of good recipes and workouts!! And this workout certainly kicked my butt!!! You can also adjust the resistance according to your fitness levels so that it works best for you. But I actually felt great after this one.

Now I’ll get to my things I’m loving Monday (or late Sunday for some) segment!!! Here we go…

  • Hiking Days

hikingday2hikingday3 hikingday4hikingday1

I made the most of this warm weather this weekend because I knew it would probably be the last time it would reach 24 degrees and sunny here for a while. So Tanner and I headed out to the trans Canada trail and went for a nice long hike. You can tell the leaves are already beginning to change colour (AHHHH!) However, I’ll say it does look beautiful.

  • Cheshire cat mug

cheshire cat1cheshire cat2

My good girlfriend gave this to me, it’s probably one of my new favourite mugs. A huge reason being because I am a Disney fanatic! Anything Disney I usually fall instantly invlove with. This mug is amazing because when it’s hot, the cheshire cat DISAPPEARS and you see only his smile!!! And when cool, he reappears! How amazing is that?!

  • Let’s Be Cops

let's be cops

I saw this movie on Saturday night with some friends. If you’ve ever watched the show ‘New Girl’, the main characters in this movie are actually also 2 of the main male roles in that show. I didn’t really know what to expect going into this movie, and the ratings weren’t all that great. But man oh man, I laughed sooo hard from beginning to end! Seriously hilarious. I recommend everyone go see it (but not so much for little ones)

  • Crockpot Texan chili recipe

texas chili

I had lean ground turkey in the freezer and really wanted to utilize my slow cooker in some way. And I loves me some chili!! It’s also a yummy choice, especially when it’s healthy (like this recipe).
I love crockpot recipes because they are the easiest things ever, literally just dump everything into it and let it sit for 6-8 hours.

Yields:  8|
Ingredients
• 2 pounds lean ground turkey, cubed
• 1 tablespoon canola oil
• 1 onion, minced
• 1-2 jalapeño peppers, minced
• 4 cloves garlic, minced
• 1 tablespoon ground cumin
• 3 tablespoons Ancho chili powder
• 1 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes, more or less to taste
• 1 can chili seasoned tomatoes
• 1 can mixed beans
• 1 can corn kernels
• Chopped green onions and fat-free Greek yogurt for topping

Directions
Put everything into a slow cooker. Make sure the ground turkey is covered by the mixture and leave in the slow-cooker for 6-8 hours!

Let me know how you enjoyed your weekend!

Leave a Reply

