Reaching goals

Reaching goals. This is such a simple thing in life but means so much to the individual. Honestly, I haven’t pushed myself enough until quite recently. I’ve practiced yoga for some time now but have really been taking the time lately to try and go a little further, and had set out to accomplish some of the harder poses and balances that I’d thought I’d never be able to do with my lack of strength in the past. Last week during my power yoga class, I was FINALLY able to do the crane/crow pose. I had done soo many pushups, core workouts, everything, and it all lead up to this moment! I felt like I was on cloud nine, seriously. I know for some people this may seem pretty simple and easy, but it had been hard for me, and to get to this point makes me feel absolutely amazing and keeps me motivated!

Reaching goals also makes me a lot more appreciative of some of the other little things in life. Like these things:

IMG_0047

Spaghetti squash

It’s been a while since I’ve enjoyed this root vegetable. I made it in the typical way, frying it in the pan and saunteing it with mushrooms, grape tomatoes and broccoli in tomato sauce. With a bit of sprinkled mozzarella, this made for an amazing dinner! I mainly chose to make it because Colt was working late and I know this is one of those foods that I love but he really dislikes! So yayyy there was a silver lining of being at home alone during dinner time.

Curling

This is a weekly activity of mine. Every Wednesday night I play in a women’s league and I absolutely love my teammates! I really noticed this week how much I look forward to getting out and seeing the girls and moving. Sometimes you just need to stop and appreciate all those little things! For those of you who have never tried the sport of curling before, I highly recommend it! It’s so fun and easy to catch on and understand how the game works. However, I will say it can get fairly cold in the rink!

HIIT treadmill workout – I loves me some hill work!

Hip hop dancing class

YES! I actually had the opportunity to do this while working, and actually getting paid to do so.. It was so so fun. Funny enough, I used to take hip hop dance lessons when I was younger and it was a bit nostalgic for me. You can’t help but dance and then have a massive grin on your face for the rest of the day! (Unfortunately could not document this as per the students requests, but trust me it was hilariously fun!)

Leave a Reply

