Trying new things

For someone who doesn’t often like to stray from my typical recipes and food choices, I have seemed to be on the adventurous side lately! You will never guess what I tried….

MOOSE MEAT!

This shouldn’t surprise many of those who live in Alberta, it seems to be a very common food choice in these parts. I don’t typically enjoy much red meat, but a friend of ours who also hunts his own meat actually butchered it himself and gave us enough meat to fill an entire freezer. First recipe that Colt and I opted to try were the moose ribs.

It was a pretty standard recipe and just had them cooking in the crock pot with a container of beef stock, basil, thyme, pepper and salt and a little cayenne and BBQ seasoning for roughly 10 hours. I have to say, they were very tender and tasted better than I had anticipated, but I’m still not the biggest fan. But hey – food is food!

For my breakfasts, I usually turn to a smoothie. It’s always the most standard banana, strawberry and orange, or peanut butter and chocolate! But since I’ve felt as though I needed to add some more protein into my diet, I purchased a sample pack of the vega protein smoothie berry mix too give it a try.

I mixed this in with a handful of frozen mixed berries and some vanilla yogurt. While it does taste fairly good, there is still a little bit of a chalky taste that is left over. This was to be expected because the powder is completely vegan and natural. But what I loved the most was the staying power. One package has 15 grams of protein which kept my hunger at bay and keeps me content!

Food aside, I also tried out a new upper body and cardio mix workout! Ohhhh baby I feel it in my muscles already today!

This is my workout from this morning:

It’s a great heart pumping workout and switches up enough so that you don’t get bored.

ipolkadot-background-2012wsAnd now it’s back to work for me, chat soon!

Leave a Reply

