Getting into a new groove

This weekend was enjoyable and relaxing. Something that I think I’ve certainly been in need of. On Saturday, Colt and I headed to our neighbours house, who is also a co-worker and friend for a birthday! I ended up being in charge of a dessert, so I opted to use all the spare time that I had during the day on Saturday to bake a cake and put my decorating skills to the test.

It’s the most simple cake recipe ever! Just your typical vanilla cake, but the decorating took me a little bit of time. I frosted it with some homemade chocolate icing and purchased some choco/vanilla wafer sticks which I cut into haves and icing-ed all around the circumference of the cake! Then I just cut some strawberries in half and placed them on top, with some crushed white chocolate in the middle. I then got the idea from Pinterest to wrap a pretty red ribbon (that I had leftover from Christmas) around it with a bow which is what made it look that much better! I’ll admit I was fairly proud about this as I don’t normally have such decorating ability.

Fitness

I’m feeling like my workouts have been a little half-efforted lately. I honestly don’t know what it is! It’s like my motivation is dwindling and I’m looking for a new goal or routine to get into in order to know what I’m concentrating my efforts on. If you have any great methods to stay motivated please let me know !!

I am continuing to utilize the Nike Training Camp App which has helped me however!

Today I did a tabata workout! It was a 30 minute mix-up of cardio, strength and even a little bit of pilates.

I wanted to copy and paste it onto my blog for you but my phone has been acting up lately and did not coorperate – sorry!

I have to cut it short today as I have ALOT of programming to do for school!

2 thoughts on “Getting into a new groove

  1. That cake… oh my word! It’s beautiful and looks so great!!! As for staying motivated, when I get in a slump like that, I have to change it up in order to snap back. Find a challenge on Pinterest to do along with your regular workotus, like a 4 week core challenge or something and print out a calendar to write on and keep yourself accountable for this challenge. Just an idea 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

