Updates and weekend motivation

Hey friends!

It’s been another long week at work and I haven’t had the time I would have hoped to keep the blog updated.

work train

Myself and my wellness team were hard at work with one of the elementary schools we work in and had a fun filled SUPERHERO health theme! It was so awesome and fun for the kids.

I also got to go and make real homemade pizzas with the local outreach school students. They were so thrilled and were stuffed to the max afterwards!

pizza making line

This week also called for a hike to a new found lake in our area of Northern Alberta. The lake itself didn’t even have a sign identifying it’s name or anything. So Colt and I pretended it was our own little lake and called it just that – Little Lake. ๐Ÿ™‚

little lake

And something else really awesome happened for me this week! I won a contest!!!!!! YAHOO ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

pure excitement naturebox

Take a look at this NatureBox! I won a free 6 month subscription where they mail organic and healthy goodie boxes to my door!!! I can’t wait to receive my first one. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s all thanks to Julie Fagan from PBFingers ! Another reason to follow her amazing blog.

But I’m also here now and ready to chat with you about MOTIVATION.

So here’s the scenario… You’ve worked hard alllll week long. You’ve kept up with your workout regimes and strictly adhered to your diet. It’s fairly easy during the week, especially if you’re working a 9-5 job. But then, Saturday and Sunday roll around and all you’re looking to do is either chill out or make time for friends.

But you know that if you keep up with your fitness and health – whether it’s a walk, bike, anything to get moving – you will burn some calories and feel so much better than slugging around!

I’m sure most of us can relate to this feeling. I know I sure can.

But I’ve come up with some of my own ways to try to keep myself motivated on the weekends and ensure I don’t throw a wrench in all of the hard work I’ve put in during the week! (I know I don’t want to be getting up at 5:30 am for no good reason!)

health

Lay out my gear the night before

If it’s Friday night or Saturday night and I want to get a sweat session on in the morning, I will lay out the things I’ll be needing so it’s RIGHT in front of my face. Can’t ignore that.

Set my alarm using an upbeat tune

If my alarm sets off a tune that gets me pumped up and in a good mood then I am much more likely to get my body moving! And if you still don’t make it to the gym or outside then at least you get some good dance moves in. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Set a date

This is probably the best one for me. If I set a date with my boyfriend, friend, or family members then there is very little chance I will be skipping out. It’s tough to bail on the people you love!

Plan to try something new

Sign up for that class you’ve been thinking about at your gym! Or if you’re into running, try going to the lane swim. Or take a look at what your community has to offer! There’s so many cool ways to get in shape these days – barre, zumba, yoga, rock climbing, the possibilities are endless!

Think about the goals you have for yourself

Remind yourself of the person you want to be and the level of fitness you want to achieve. Not to mention the positive endorphins you’ll be feeling afterwards.

motivate

2 thoughts on “Updates and weekend motivation

Leave a Reply

