Protein pancakes & Work it out Wednesday!

I don’t normally have pancakes in the morning.. but when I do, I make sure that they are the most epic and delicious pancakes EVER. Which brings me to my recipe today…

I got this recipe from an old friend from highschool and uni!! Thanks Parisa!

 Protein Pancakes
Ingredients (for 3 pancakes):

proteinnnn

½ cup of rolled oats
1 scoop of vanilla whey protein powder
½ a banana
1 tsp coconut flour  (optional, but adds fluffiness)
1tsp of stevia (or sweetener of choice- keep it natural)
3 egg whites
1 tsp hemp seeds (optional)
1 tsp chia seeds (optional)
cinnamon (optional)
almond butter
fruit and walnuts for garnish (optional)
coconut oil
Directions:
Combine the protein powder, oats, coconut flour, seeds, stevia and cinnamon
Mush half the banana and mix with the egg whites
Mix the wet mix with the dry mix until you have a desired pancake consistency- you may need to add a little bit of water if the mix isn’t smooth enough

fryin' them up!
fryin’ them up!

Heat the skillet, and cook the pancakes in coconut oil for about 2 minutes on each side (until golden brown)
Next is the fun part – add your favourite toppings to garnish the pancakes
I used almond butter to replace syrup, the other half of my banana, some blueberries and walnuts. I also sprinkled some cinnamon and try to add it to as many recipes I can because it’s a natural fat burner and makes any dish smell and taste delicious! These pancakes are the perfect breakfast to have after a workout, or even before because they will give you a ton of energy. I have tried a few powders, and so far I like Power Whey the best. You can buy it at any supplement store such as Popeye’s or GNC for approximately $40 for 908 grams which will last you a long time, especially if you use it only for baking and cooking. If you are sensitive to whey protein powder, there are other options (vegan powders) that you can use instead.  These pancakes are PACKED with nutrients, leave you full and I promise your taste buds will thank you, so give these bad boys a try! 🙂

Yes I ate them all :)

WORKOUT

This morning I worked out before heading to school for work.
Here was my routine:

work it out wedneday

It was a good and sweaty session! On top of this, I also did 35 minutes on the elliptical. After work today I also upped my cardio by going on a nice speed walk with my doggy Tanner! Gotta enjoy this nice weather while it’s here! 🙂

How did you spend your ‘work it out’ wednesday??

One thought on “Protein pancakes & Work it out Wednesday!

Leave a Reply

