Things I’m Loving Monday

Wrap up of my labour day weekend!

Last night I went over to a friend of mine, we had a bonfire with about 10 of us. It was a low-key event where we had some good BBQ (I had a delectable veggie burger and some homemade spinach dip with veggies) and drank a couple of beers by the fire. I’ll admit that I see alcohol as not being particularly the healthiest choice but just as we have all heard a million times before, anything in moderation is allowed. There is no sense going through life without indulging ever because that’s just plain silly. We need to be able to go out and live the life that makes us happy because that above anything else reflects our level of health.

This brings me to my topic today – my new blogging segment called “Things I’m loving Monday”!! What this post will be about is every week on Monday I will be going over any wonderful new (or old) products, foods, places, ANYTHING in general that I’ve been enjoying in my life and that has contributed to my health and happiness!

So for my first ‘things I’m loving Monday’, I already knew right away the items I wanted to share with you:

  • Let the good times roll facial cleanser, LUSH cosmetics

    let the good times roll

WOW. Amazing. When shopping in Edmonton this weekend, my sister and I went past LUSH cosmetics and I could not resist, I had to go in. I’ve been in need of a new face wash and so was hoping that I might find something there because I just love the face that their products are all organic and vegan, who wants to be scrubbing their body with a bunch of chemically unnatural products?? So, I told the wonderful woman working their my skin needs (I have combination skin, acne prone and sensitive) and right away she showed me this. Let me just tell you, not only does it feel wonderful on your face and make my skin look divine but the SMELL is to die for! It’s like cookie dough and cinnamon and sweetness altogether, I actually can’t wait to wash my face with it! I highly recommend this product!!

  • Friendly neighbours and fresh fish
    walleye-raw

Since moving into my new home, I’ve come to meet my new friendly neighbours. One in particular actually went out to our lake nearby and caught a fresh Walleye, filleted it and gave it to me for dinner tonight!! There’s nothing better than fresh fish – soooo good. I couldn’t thank him enough. It makes me have a really good feeling about this place!

  • Bonfires with the best company
    fire2

Like I’ve said before, it’s so very important to have a well-rounded life in order to be your happiest and healthiest. This includes time put aside for the social aspect of your life and making sure you see your friensd and family. With the crazy week I had last week with moving into a new home and starting up work again, it was time that was much needed to relax and just appreciate some great company.

  • HYPEM.com

This website is the absolute best for some kick-butt workout tunes. You can also get an app which connects to your phone so that you can listen to the songs you “heart” anywhere!

  • My Book!!! “Change your brain, change your life”

This is a fun book that’s easy to read and thought provoking. If you have any interest in mental health, behaviour, illness, mind-body connection or are just looking for a good read then you’ll enjoy this. The book constructs a fascinating link between behaviour and health and I highly recommend to anyone who might have or work with a mental illness.

Question for you — Tell me something that contributed to your health and happiness this week!

2 thoughts on “Things I’m Loving Monday

Leave a Reply

